Like your first kiss?

Your 'hot spot' for all classical music subjects. Non-classical music subjects are to be posted in the Corner Pub.

Moderators: Lance, Corlyss_D

Richard Mullany

Like your first kiss?

Post by Richard Mullany » Thu May 22, 2008 1:26 am

Today I played to cd's of the Berlioz "Te Deum", one by the Bavarian SO and company and the other by Dennis Keene and company. Both are good but decades after my first hearing it by Beecham on a Columbia release I find I still prefer it and it has been many years since I heard it last.
Is this phenomon, of preferring the first version over subsequent others, a fairly common thing for others as it is for me? My first exposure almost always seems to be the one I prefer. I'm not a trained musician or a shrink but it strikes me as odd that this bias should be so strong.
My first experience with Toscannini/ Beethoven was back in the late thirties. When he was given the NBC SO then I followed along and bought it all, by then on LP. When he was gone and stereo came along I really wanted something close to "Him". I asked the clerks at the old Liberty Music Shop, in Ann Arbor, as knowledgeable as any in the world in those days they said Solti and the CSO. I bought it and found it very satisfactory. When CD's came in I got the CD version.
Why do we want to stick with the memory of that "first time"?

Lance
Site Administrator

Post by Lance » Thu May 22, 2008 1:35 am

Hi Richard:

I suppose it's because of the initial reaction we have in our brain and we never forget it. I certainly remember my "first kiss!" I was quaking in my boots, as they say.

The other thing about this is that usually your first thoughts are the best or most accurate. If one is taking a test and there are four choices, the one that you go to first is usually the correct answer (of course, not always).