'Cheerful Money'-A Good Read

A cozy, genteel room to discuss books, authors, and things literary.

Moderators: Lance, Corlyss_D

stenka razin
CMG's Chief Decorator

'Cheerful Money'-A Good Read

Post by stenka razin » Sat Sep 12, 2009 5:24 am

Cheerful Money: Me, My Family, and the Last Days of Wasp Splendor
By Tad Friend
Hardcover, 349 pages
Little, Brown
List price: $24.99

A recommended new book about 'wasp culture' and money. Here is an excerpt from the first chapter:

Chapter One

Tomatoes

When I graduated from Shipley, a small prep school in Bryn Mawr, my father's mother, Grandma Jess, wrote to congratulate me on my academic record: "A truly tremendous achievement - but then I could expect nothing less due to your marvelous background - Robinson, Pierson, Holton, Friend!" I remember scowling at her airy blue script, noting the point - after the first dash - where the compliment turned into a eugenic claim. As my grandparents happened to constitute a Wasp compass, the way ahead was marked in all directions: I could proceed as a Robinson like Grandma Tim's family (loquacious, madcap, sometimes unhinged); a Pierson like Grandpa John's family (bristling with brains); a Holton like Grandma Jess's family (restless, haughty show ponies); or a Friend like Grandpa Ted's family (moneyed, clubbable, and timid).