Richard Goode in Philadelphia

Have you been to a concert somewhere in the world recently? Share your thoughts with us about the performance, the more details the better!

Moderators: Lance, Corlyss_D

Steinway

Richard Goode in Philadelphia

Post by Steinway » Thu Nov 17, 2011 5:01 pm

I attended this recital and from what the usually reliable DP Stearns had to say, I suspect he either got there for the second half or didn't attend the recital at all.

Things occured, particularly noticeable in the Mozart C minor sonata that were totally left out of this review and make me suspect as to the accuracy or even the valdity of this review.

This is not the first time I have been convinced that a reviewer got the information about a performance from another source.

I'm sure it happens and while Goode is impregnable as a great artist, I shudder to think of the impact of this tactic on a lesser known performer.

Ricordanza

Re: Richard Goode in Philadelphia

Post by Ricordanza » Fri Nov 18, 2011 6:38 am

Cliftwood wrote:Things occured, particularly noticeable in the Mozart C minor sonata that were totally left out of this review and make me suspect as to the accuracy or even the valdity of this review.
Now I'm curious. I didn't attend this recital, but I did read Stearns' review. What occurred? What did Stearns leave out?

Steinway

Post by Steinway » Fri Nov 18, 2011 11:07 am

Henry..

Goode botched the C Minor Mozart , not only with technical lapses but at one point he seemed to almost lose his place. It was very disconcerting and while he recovered, it wasn't his finest hour.

Making no mention of it was interesting, because he was scheduled to play a different sonata and just proceeded from the Fantasie immediately in the C Minor.

I disagree with Stearns on Goode's Chopin and think he really excels in the composer's work.

Best regards.

Bro

Post by Bro » Fri Nov 25, 2011 9:51 pm